The Australian Podcast Awards is an annual celebration of the quality and breadth of Australian podcast content. Entries are self-nominated, and over 20 categories are judged by a panel of experts, with 2 categories decided by popular vote. Entries come from independent podcasters, as well as some of the most iconic media brands in the country, and all production backgrounds in between. Entries close on 14 February 2019, and anyone with an interest in podcasting is encouraged to attend the event on 18 May at the 500-seat Everest Theatre at Sydney's Seymour Centre.

The Australian Podcast Awards began to form in late 2015. Dave Gertler, a Sydney-based independent podcaster, realised the industry was beginning to mature, and would benefit from the establishment of a healthy awards ceremony. He named the project the 'Cast Away Awards' and spent 2016 putting together a judging panel and spreading the word to as many Australian podcasters as he could.

In April 2017 the Cast Away Awards event took place in Sydney, seeing guests, podcasters and judges in attendance from most States and Territories. Dave then took a few months' break to attend to life outside of podcast awards, before announcing a 2018 event in Melbourne, as the rebranded 'Australian Podcast Awards'.

Now after two successful awards events, the 3rd Annual Australian Podcast Awards is set to return to Sydney, on May 18th at the Seymour Centre. It will be bigger and better than ever, and if you're reading this, we hope you're a part of the event.